Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

 

Events beginning Friday, 23rd Aug 2019 00:00am
Data Clinic at the Doctoral Academy
29/08/2019 (Thursday) 15:00 - 16:00
Writers' Retreat
12/09/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:15
Pushing Through - Year 2
24/09/2019 (Tuesday) 00:00 - 00:00
Demonstrating/Laboratory Based Teaching in the Sciences
25/09/2019 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Finishing up, Looking Ahead - Year 3
26/09/2019 (Thursday) 00:00 - 00:00
Assessing Student Learning in the Sciences
30/09/2019 (Monday) 13:30 - 16:30
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Seminars
07/10/2019 (Monday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Academic Writing - What Should a Literature Review Do?
08/10/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
14/10/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:30
Webinar: Academic Writing - Writing Effectively
15/10/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Academic Writing - Academic Publishing
22/10/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Teaching Diverse Learners
23/10/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Academic Writing - Writing and Structuring an Effective Thesis
23/10/2019 (Wednesday) 19:00 - 21:00
User Log on Test
02/11/2019 (Saturday) 10:00 - 10:01
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
04/11/2019 (Monday) 09:20 - 13:30
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - A Comparison of Qualitative Methods
05/11/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Qualitative Interviewing
12/11/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Lecturing Skills
12/11/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Zotero: a Free Alternative to EndNote
18/11/2019 (Monday) 13:50 - 16:00
Improving your Interaction with Others
19/11/2019 (Tuesday) 14:30 - 16:30
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Analysing Qualitative Data
19/11/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Examination and the Viva (Sciences)
21/11/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Systematic Database Searching For Literature Reviews
21/11/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - Preparing for Your Viva
26/11/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Overcoming Perfectionism
26/11/2019 (Tuesday) 13:00 - 15:00
Public Speaking for Researchers
28/11/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 17:00
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
03/12/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - On The Job: Securing a First Academic Post
03/12/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
The Third Year: End is in Sight
05/12/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:00
The Second Year: Making Effective Progress
09/12/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Finishing your PhD - Preparing Impactful Research Proposals and Grant Applications
10/12/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Images of Research
10/12/2019 (Tuesday) 16:00 - 18:00
Mendeley: An Introduction
11/12/2019 (Wednesday) 09:50 - 12:00
Collaboration: The Hidden Research Skill
12/12/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 17:00
Academic Writing: Reduce Anxiety
10/01/2020 (Friday) 13:30 - 16:30
Abstracts: How to Write them in the Sciences
13/01/2020 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
14/01/2020 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Lectures
14/01/2020 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Assessment, Feedback and Module Design
21/01/2020 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
22/01/2020 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 16:30
EndNote Desktop: For Experienced Users
23/01/2020 (Thursday) 09:50 - 12:00
Strengthening Your Profile
23/01/2020 (Thursday) 10:00 - 13:00
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 27/01/2020 (Monday) 09:30 - 17:00  
Managing Stress and Anxiety in your PhD
28/01/2020 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:00
Writing a Literature Review in the Sciences
29/01/2020 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
From Complexity to Clarity: Successfully Communicating the Impact of Your Research
30/01/2020 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:00
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 31/01/2020 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 04/02/2020 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00  
Preparing and Presenting a Conference Paper (Humanities/Social Sciences)
06/02/2020 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
Part Time PhD - All in one Day
07/02/2020 (Friday) 09:30 - 16:30
Practise your Presentation Skills
11/02/2020 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Turbocharge Your Writing
05/03/2020 (Thursday) 00:00 - 00:00
Imposter Syndrome: Why Successful People Often Feel Like Frauds
05/03/2020 (Thursday) 00:00 - 00:00
How to Develop Your Brand
16/03/2020 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
Practical Project Management for Your Research
19/03/2020 (Thursday) 09:30 - 17:00
Visualising Research Using Sketchnotes
26/03/2020 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
Writing and Publishing Your Research (Sciences)
27/03/2020 (Friday) 09:30 - 12:30
How to Critically Appraise Systematic Reviews and Intervention Studies
29/04/2020 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 13:30
Breaking Boundaries: Interdisciplinary Conference for Humanities & Social Sciences
06/05/2020 (Wednesday) 00:00 - 00:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - A Basic Guide
12/05/2020 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Scale Development
19/05/2020 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Structural Equation Modelling
26/05/2020 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Mentoring and Coaching
24/06/2020 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 13:00