Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

 

Events beginning Monday, 19th Feb 2018 00:00am
CorelDRAW: Using the Graphics Suite to Manipulate Images
20/02/2018 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Collaboration: The Hidden Research Skill
20/02/2018 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:00
R Package for Statistical Analysis: An Introduction
21/02/2018 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Creating Your Own Macros
21/02/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Small Group Teaching in the Humanities & Social Sciences
21/02/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Sciences
22/02/2018 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30
Fear Less
26/02/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data, Microsoft
26/02/2018 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:30
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
26/02/2018 (Monday) 10.00 - 12.30
Preparing and Presenting a Conference Paper (Humanities/Social Sciences)
27/02/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Demonstrating/Laboratory Based Teaching in the Sciences
27/02/2018 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Intellectual Property and Copyright: Understanding Your Rights and Rights of Others
28/02/2018 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 13:00
Abstracts: How to Write them in the Sciences
28/02/2018 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Finishing Your PhD
28/02/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 15:00
Careers for Postgraduate Researchers (Physical Sciences & Engineering)
01/03/2018 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
SPSS Part One: The Art of Data Entry
05/03/2018 (Monday) 10:00 - 13:00
Recognition as a Teacher in Higher Education - Individual Route
05/03/2018 (Monday) 10:00 - 13:00
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
05/03/2018 (Monday) 13:00 - 17:00
Think Archival - Access Archives and Unlock Value
06/03/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Examination and the Viva (Sciences)
07/03/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
SPSS Part Two: Basic Data Analysis and Manipulation
07/03/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 13:00
How to Get Published (AHSS)
07/03/2018 (Wednesday) 17:00 - 18:00
C Programming: An Introduction
08/03/2018 (Thursday) 09:00 - 17:00
Impact and Research Communication Skills
09/03/2018 (Friday) 09:15 - 16:00
Perfectionism
12/03/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
Managing Your Supervisor
12/03/2018 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:00
Presentation Skills: An Introduction
13/03/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 13:00
Funding for Interdisciplinary Activities: Briefing Session
14/03/2018 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 13:00
Creating and Managing an Inclusive Learning Environment
14/03/2018 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Zotero: a Free Alternative to EndNote
14/03/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Quantitative 1 - Systematic reviews and Intervention studies
15/03/2018 (Thursday) 09:30 - 13:00
Designing Posters for Conferences
19/03/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Bibliographies with Biber and BibLaTex
20/03/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Effective Researcher: Effective Progress - The Second Year
20/03/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Public Speaking for Researchers
21/03/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 17:00
Exploratory Data Analysis
21/03/2018 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Reflective Writing
22/03/2018 (Thursday) 14:00 - 15:30
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Quantitative 2 - Observational Research
22/03/2018 (Thursday) 09:30 - 13:00
Dealing with Procrastination
26/03/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 11:30
Effective Researcher: The End is in Sight
27/03/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Keeping Your Research Up-to-Date (Social Sciences)
03/04/2018 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Writing a Literature Review (Sciences)
10/04/2018 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
R Package for Statistical Analysis: Intermediate
11/04/2018 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Starting Out: Induction Event for New Researchers
12/04/2018 (Thursday) 09:45 - 16:15
An Introduction to Research Communication and Engagement
17/04/2018 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Qualitative
17/04/2018 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
18/04/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:30
Breaking Boundaries: An interdisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities conference - Delegate
19/04/2018 (Thursday) 9:00 - 18:00
Breaking Boundaries: Interdisciplinary Conference for Humanities & Social Sciences
19/04/2018 (Thursday) 9:00 - 18:00
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
23/04/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 17:00
Data Visualisation for Communicating Research
24/04/2018 (Tuesday) 10:30 - 12:30
SPSS: Intermediate - Comparing groups
24/04/2018 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
SPSS: Intermediate - Exploring Relationships Among Variables
25/04/2018 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Creating Presentations with Beamer
26/04/2018 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Lose Your Fear of Finance: Skills for Business and Research
26/04/2018 (Thursday) 09:00 - 17:00
Entrepreneurship and Commercialisation
27/04/2018 (Friday) 09:00 - 17:00
Researching Employers In The Private Sector
27/04/2018 (Friday) 14:00 - 16:00
Mixed Methods in Social Science Research: An Introduction
30/04/2018 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:30
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
30/04/2018 (Monday) 9:30 - 16:30
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
01/05/2018 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 16:30
Excel: Using Functions and Formulae to Analyse Your Data, Microsoft
02/05/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:30
Research Funding - Level 1: Introduction to Research Funding
02/05/2018 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 12:30
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference
03/05/2018 (Thursday) 9:00 - 18:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Floats, Constructing Plots and Using Data
08/05/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Enhancing Your Web Searching Skills
09/05/2018 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Rapid Reading
09/05/2018 (Wednesday) 09:15 - 16:30
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 14/05/2018 (Monday) 09:30 - 17:30  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 15/05/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Effective Researcher: The First Year (6-12 Months)
16/05/2018 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 16:00
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 17/05/2018 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Time Management
18/05/2018 (Friday) 09:15 - 12:30
Inkscape for Easy Illustrations
22/05/2018 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:30
Mock Viva (Humanities and Social Sciences)
31/05/2018 (Thursday) 13:00 - 15:00
EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing your References
04/06/2018 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
 Statistical Theory and Method: Introduction (for Physical Sciences) (2 parts)
starts: 11/06/2018 (Monday) 9:30 - 16:30  
 MATLAB (3 parts)
starts: 11/06/2018 (Monday) 13:00 - 16:00  
Publishing a Journal Article in the Social & Economic Sciences
13/06/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Assessment & Feedback in the Humanities & Social Sciences
19/06/2018 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 12:30
Excel: Using Macros to Automate Tasks,Microsoft
21/06/2018 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
NVivo 11 (Windows): Introduction to Qualitative Analysis Software
22/06/2018 (Friday) 9:30 - 16:30
Interpersonal Effectiveness
02/07/2018 (Monday) 12:00 - 14:00
Managing Stress in the PhD
02/07/2018 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentation, Microsoft
02/07/2018 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:30
Practical Project Management for Your Research
03/07/2018 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Finding Information For Research (Part-time and Distance Students)
03/07/2018 (Tuesday) 16:30 - 18:30
Mendeley: An Introduction
04/07/2018 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Thinking Outside the Box and Your PhD
26/07/2018 (Thursday) 10:00 - 13:00
User Log on Test
08/08/2018 (Wednesday) 00:00 - 00:00