Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

Events beginning Sunday, 26th Feb 2017 00:00am
Abstracts: How to Write them in the Sciences
27/02/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
Lecturing Skills
28/02/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Intellectual Property and Copyright: Understanding Your Rights and Rights of Others
28/02/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 13:00
R Package for Statistical Analysis: An Introduction
01/03/2017 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Recognition as a Teacher in Higher Education - Individual Route
01/03/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 13:00
Application Forms: Making your Answers Count
03/03/2017 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00
Book Reviews (Humanities/Social Sciences)
06/03/2017 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:00
ARC: An Introduction to Linux Shell Scripting
07/03/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Think Archival - Access Archives and Unlock Value
07/03/2017 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Presentation Skills: An Introduction
07/03/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 13:00
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
08/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:20 - 13:30
Enhancing Your Web Searching Skills
08/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:50 - 12:00
Public Speaking for Researchers
13/03/2017 (Monday) 10:00 - 17:00
Effective Researcher: The End is in Sight
14/03/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Perfectionism
15/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:00
Effective Researcher: Effective Progress - The Second Year
16/03/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:00
Zotero: a Free Alternative to EndNote
16/03/2017 (Thursday) 13:50 - 16:00
Impact and Research Communication Skills
21/03/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:00
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Quantitative
22/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 16:30
ARC: Supercomputing for Beginners
22/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Effective CV Writing
23/03/2017 (Thursday) 14:00 - 16:00
Funding for Interdisciplinary Activities: Briefing Session
23/03/2017 (Thursday) 12:00 - 13:00
Designing Posters for Conferences
24/03/2017 (Friday) 09:30 - 16:30
 C++ for Beginners (3 parts)
starts: 27/03/2017 (Monday) 09:00 - 17:00  
Engagement Masterclass
28/03/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Rapid Reading
29/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:15 - 16:30
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Bibliographies with Biber and BibLaTex
30/03/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Mendeley: An Introduction
03/04/2017 (Monday) 09:50 - 12:00
Developing Systematic Literature Searches - General
03/04/2017 (Monday) 13:30 - 16:30
Keeping Your Research Up-to-Date (Social Sciences)
04/04/2017 (Tuesday) 13:50 - 16:00
Entrepreneurship and Commercialisation
04/04/2017 (Tuesday) 09:00 - 17:00
ARC: Advanced Use of 'Raven' - the Supercomputer
05/04/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Lose Your Fear of Finance: Skills for Business and Research
05/04/2017 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 17:00
Writing a Literature Review (Sciences)
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30
Demonstrating/Laboratory Based Teaching in the Sciences
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
Starting Out: Induction Event for New Researchers
11/04/2017 (Tuesday) 09:45 - 16:15
UNIX/LINUX: An Introduction
12/04/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 17:00
Dealing with Procrastination
12/04/2017 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Creating Presentations with Beamer
26/04/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Engaging with Impact
26/04/2017 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 15:00
ARC: An Introduction to Parallel Programming using OpenMP
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:00
Breaking Boundaries: Interdisciplinary Conference for Humanities & Social Sciences
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:00 - 18:00
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Sciences
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30
ARC: Introduction to Parallel Programming using Message Passing (MPI)
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
An Introduction to Engagement Funding
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Excel: Using Functions and Formulae to Analyse Your Data, Microsoft
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 10:20 - 13:30
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 08:00 - 17:00
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference - Delegate
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 08:00 - 17:00
Monitoring and Evaluating Engagement
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
Effective Researcher: The First Year
08/05/2017 (Monday) 09:00 - 16:00
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 09/05/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Qualitative
09/05/2017 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Engagement Grant Writing
10/05/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Small Group Teaching in the Humanities & Social Sciences
10/05/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Time Management
11/05/2017 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:45
 Structural Equation Modelling (2 parts)
starts: 11/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:30  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 11/05/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Fear Less
15/05/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Floats and Other Tips
16/05/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Stata: An Introduction
17/05/2017 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 16:30
Practical Project Management for Your Research
18/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:45
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
22/05/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 23/05/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:30  
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
24/05/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Mock Viva (Humanities and Social Sciences)
25/05/2017 (Thursday) 17:00 - 19:00
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
26/05/2017 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:30
Inkscape for Easy Illustrations
30/05/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Research Funding - Level 1: Introduction to Research Funding
01/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:00 - 12:30
Creative Engagement
09/06/2017 (Friday) 09-06-2017 - 09:30
Including 3rd Party Copyright Material in your Thesis
13/06/2017 (Tuesday) 10:30 - 12:00
SPSS Part One: The Art of Data Entry
14/06/2017 (Wednesday) 09:50 - 13:00
SPSS Part Two: Basic Data Analysis and Manipulation
16/06/2017 (Friday) 09:20 - 12:30
NVivo 11 (Windows): Introduction to Qualitative Analysis Software
19/06/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 10:00
Researching Employers In The Private Sector
20/06/2017 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing your References
22/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:50 - 12:00
Excel: Using Macros to Automate Tasks,Microsoft
22/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:20 - 12:30
Assessment & Feedback in the Humanities & Social Sciences
27/06/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Managing Stress in the PhD
04/07/2017 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Interpersonal Effectiveness
05/07/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentation, Microsoft
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 13:20 - 16:00
Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data, Microsoft
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 09:20 - 12:30
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 17:00
Publishing a Journal Article in the Social & Economic Sciences
19/07/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Thinking Outside the Box and Your PhD
25/07/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 13:00
User Log on Test
08/08/2017 (Tuesday) 00:00 - 00:00