Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

Events beginning Sunday, 26th Mar 2017 00:00am
 C++ for Beginners (3 parts)
starts: 27/03/2017 (Monday) 09:00 - 17:00  
Engagement Masterclass
28/03/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Lecturing Skills
28/03/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Rapid Reading
29/03/2017 (Wednesday) 09:15 - 16:30
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Bibliographies with Biber and BibLaTex
30/03/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Developing Systematic Literature Searches - General
03/04/2017 (Monday) 13:30 - 16:30
Mendeley: An Introduction
03/04/2017 (Monday) 09:50 - 12:00
Keeping Your Research Up-to-Date (Social Sciences)
04/04/2017 (Tuesday) 13:50 - 16:00
Entrepreneurship and Commercialisation
04/04/2017 (Tuesday) 09:00 - 17:00
Lose Your Fear of Finance: Skills for Business and Research
05/04/2017 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 17:00
ARC: Advanced Use of 'Raven' - the Supercomputer
05/04/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Demonstrating/Laboratory Based Teaching in the Sciences
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
Writing a Literature Review (Sciences)
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)
06/04/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
07/04/2017 (Friday) 09:20 - 13:30
SPSS: Intermediate
10/04/2017 (Monday) 9:30 - 16:30
Presentation Skills: An Introduction
10/04/2017 (Monday) 10:00 - 13:00
Starting Out: Induction Event for New Researchers
11/04/2017 (Tuesday) 09:45 - 16:15
Dealing with Procrastination
12/04/2017 (Wednesday) 12:00 - 14:00
UNIX/LINUX: An Introduction
12/04/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 17:00
R Package for Statistical Analysis: Advanced
12/04/2017 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Exploratory Data Analysis
26/04/2017 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Engaging with Impact
26/04/2017 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 15:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Creating Presentations with Beamer
26/04/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
ARC: An Introduction to Parallel Programming using OpenMP
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:00
Breaking Boundaries: Interdisciplinary Conference for Humanities & Social Sciences
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:00 - 18:00
Breaking Boundaries: An interdisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities conference - Delegate
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 09:00 - 18:00
Research Funding - Level 2: How to Write a Good Research Bid - Sciences
27/04/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30
Enhancing Your Web Searching Skills
02/05/2017 (Tuesday) 13:50 - 16:00
ARC: Introduction to Parallel Programming using Message Passing (MPI)
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 12:30
An Introduction to Engagement Funding
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Excel: Using Functions and Formulae to Analyse Your Data, Microsoft
03/05/2017 (Wednesday) 10:20 - 13:30
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference - Delegate
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 08:00 - 17:00
Monitoring and Evaluating Engagement
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference
04/05/2017 (Thursday) 08:00 - 17:00
Effective Researcher: The First Year
08/05/2017 (Monday) 09:00 - 16:00
 Multimodality: Beyond the interview: walking, hearing and picturing social worlds (2 parts)
starts: 08/05/2017 (Monday) 10:00 - 18:00  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 09/05/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Critical Appraisal of Research Papers: Qualitative
09/05/2017 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Engagement Grant Writing
10/05/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Small Group Teaching in the Humanities & Social Sciences
10/05/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:00
 Structural Equation Modelling (2 parts)
starts: 11/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:30  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 11/05/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Time Management
11/05/2017 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:45
Fear Less
15/05/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
LaTeX: An Introduction (Part 2) – Managing Floats and Other Tips
16/05/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Stata: An Introduction
17/05/2017 (Wednesday) 09:00 - 16:30
Practical Project Management for Your Research
18/05/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:45
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Sciences)
18/05/2017 (Thursday) 14:00 - 16:00
Application Forms: Making your Answers Count
19/05/2017 (Friday) 14:00 - 16:00
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
22/05/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 23/05/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:30  
Mock Viva (Humanities and Social Sciences)
25/05/2017 (Thursday) 17:00 - 19:00
Effective CV Writing
25/05/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
26/05/2017 (Friday) 09:30 - 16:30
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
26/05/2017 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:30
Inkscape for Easy Illustrations
30/05/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Research Funding - Level 1: Introduction to Research Funding
01/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:00 - 12:30
Creative Engagement
09/06/2017 (Friday) 09-06-2017 - 09:30
Including 3rd Party Copyright Material in your Thesis
13/06/2017 (Tuesday) 10:30 - 12:00
SPSS Part One: The Art of Data Entry
14/06/2017 (Wednesday) 09:50 - 13:00
SPSS Part Two: Basic Data Analysis and Manipulation
16/06/2017 (Friday) 09:20 - 12:30
NVivo 11 (Windows): Introduction to Qualitative Analysis Software
19/06/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 10:00
Researching Employers In The Private Sector
20/06/2017 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing your References
22/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:50 - 12:00
Excel: Using Macros to Automate Tasks,Microsoft
22/06/2017 (Thursday) 09:20 - 12:30
Assessment & Feedback in the Humanities & Social Sciences
27/06/2017 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Designing Posters for Conferences
03/07/2017 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30
Managing Stress in the PhD
04/07/2017 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Interpersonal Effectiveness
05/07/2017 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentation, Microsoft
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 13:20 - 16:00
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 09:30 - 17:00
Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data, Microsoft
06/07/2017 (Thursday) 09:20 - 12:30
Recognition as a Teacher in Higher Education - Individual Route
13/07/2017 (Thursday) 10:00 - 13:00
Publishing a Journal Article in the Social & Economic Sciences
19/07/2017 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Thinking Outside the Box and Your PhD
25/07/2017 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 13:00
User Log on Test
08/08/2017 (Tuesday) 00:00 - 00:00