Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

 

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

 

Events beginning Monday, 17th Dec 2018 00:00am
Effective Researcher: Effective Progress - The Second Year
18/12/2018 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Data Clinic at the Doctoral Academy
20/12/2018 (Thursday) 15:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Seminars
08/01/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
08/01/2019 (Tuesday) 12:50 - 17:00
Seven Secrets of Highly Successful Researchers
14/01/2019 (Monday) 13:30 - 16:30
Imposter Syndrome: Why Successful People Often Feel Like Frauds
15/01/2019 (Tuesday) 10:30 - 12:00
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Lectures
15/01/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Turbocharge Your Writing
15/01/2019 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Staying Safe When Doing Field Research
16/01/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Starting Out: Induction Event for New Researchers
17/01/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:15
NVivo 11 (Windows): Introduction to Qualitative Analysis Software
18/01/2019 (Friday) 09:30 - 16:30
 Preparing for Leadership (3 parts)
starts: 21/01/2019 (Monday) 10:30 - 15:30  
Abstracts: How to Write them in the Sciences
22/01/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
Enhance Academic Writing in Your PhD Thesis
22/01/2019 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 12:30
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Assessment, Feedback and Module Design
22/01/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
R Package for Statistical Analysis: An Introduction
23/01/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Inkscape for Easy Illustrations
24/01/2019 (Thursday) 09:20 - 12:00
Using Technology to Teach
24/01/2019 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:00
Run Your Own Conference
25/01/2019 (Friday) 10:00 - 13:00
The Conversation: writing your research for the public
28/01/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 11:30
 MATLAB: An Introduction (3 parts)
starts: 28/01/2019 (Monday) 13:00 - 16:00  
Webinar: Academic Writing - What Should a Literature Review Do?
29/01/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Lecturing Skills
30/01/2019 (Wednesday) 9:30 - 16:30
Managing Stress in the PhD
04/02/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 11:30
EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing your References
04/02/2019 (Monday) 09:50 - 12:00
Time Management
04/02/2019 (Monday) 13:30 - 16:45
PowerPoint: An Introduction to Creating Presentations, Microsoft
05/02/2019 (Tuesday) 09:50 - 12:30
Webinar: Academic Writing - Writing Effectively
05/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
05/02/2019 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 16:30
Writing a Literature Review in the Sciences
06/02/2019 (Wednesday) 9:30 - 12:30
ARC: Advanced Research Computing at Cardiff University
06/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Writing and Publishing Your Research (Sciences)
06/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
06/02/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data, Microsoft
07/02/2019 (Thursday) 09:50 - 12:30
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
07/02/2019 (Thursday) 9:30 - 16:30
Part Time PhD - All in one Day
08/02/2019 (Friday) 09:30 - 16:30
Intellectual Property and Copyright: Understanding Your Rights and Rights of Others
11/02/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 13:00
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
11/02/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:30
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 12/02/2019 (Tuesday) 14:00 - 16:00  
Practise your Presentation Skills
12/02/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Academic Writing - Academic Publishing
12/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
UNIX/LINUX: An Introduction
13/02/2019 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 17:00
Demonstrating/Laboratory Based Teaching in the Sciences
13/02/2019 (Wednesday) 9:30 - 12:30
Interviews and Interviewing in Social Science Research
14/02/2019 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 14/02/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Improving your Interaction Others
15/02/2019 (Friday) 09:30 - 11:30
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Friday Series (5 parts)
starts: 15/02/2019 (Friday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Advancing LGBT+ Inclusivity Across Higher Education Teaching & Learning Environments
18/02/2019 (Monday) 9:30 - 16:30
Webinar: Academic Writing - Writing and Structuring an Effective Thesis
19/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Practical Project Management for Your Research
19/02/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Exploratory Data Analysis
20/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
ARC: An Introduction to Linux with Command Line (& Windows 101)
21/02/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 16:00
Python: An Introduction to Programming
21/02/2019 (Thursday) 03:30 - 12:30
Planning and Writing Your Thesis (Sciences)
25/02/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - A Comparison of Qualitative Methods
26/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Why Teach in Higher Education?
27/02/2019 (Wednesday) 14:30 - 16:30
R Package for Statistical Analysis: Intermediate
27/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Python Advanced
28/02/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentation, Microsoft
01/03/2019 (Friday) 09:50 - 12:30
Java: An Introduction
04/03/2019 (Monday) 09:00 - 17:00
Recognition as a Teacher in Higher Education - Individual Route: Coaching Session
05/03/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Qualitative Interviewing
05/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
ARC: An Introduction to Linux Shell Scripting
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Zotero: a Free Alternative to EndNote
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 13:50 - 16:00
Collaboration: The Hidden Research Skill
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Examination and the Viva (Sciences)
07/03/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 15:00
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)
07/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Sciences)
11/03/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
CorelDRAW: Using the Graphics Suite to Manipulate Images
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Application Forms: Making your Answers Count
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Analysing Qualitative Data
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Effective CV Writing
14/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - Preparing for Your Viva
19/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
ARC: Supercomputing for Beginners
21/03/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - On The Job: Securing a First Academic Post
26/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Effective Researcher: The End is in Sight
01/04/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Finishing your PhD - Preparing Impactful Research Proposals and Grant Applications
02/04/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Assessing Student Learning in the Sciences
02/04/2019 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 12:30
Systematic Database Searching For Literature Reviews
03/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:50 - 17:00
ARC: Advanced Use of 'Hawk' - the Supercomputer
03/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
How to Critically Appraise Qualitative Research Papers
04/04/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 13:00
Mendeley: An Introduction
04/04/2019 (Thursday) 13:50 - 16:00
Managing Procrastination
05/04/2019 (Friday) 09:30 - 11:30
Overcoming Perfectionism
08/04/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
Patent Searching to Develop your Research and Innovation Activities
08/04/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
ARC: An Introduction to Parallel Programming using OpenMP
10/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Researching Companies and Industries In The Private Sector
10/04/2019 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Writers' Retreat
16/04/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:15
ARC: Introduction to Parallel Programming using Message Passing (MPI)
17/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
How to Critically Appraise Systematic Reviews and Intervention Studies
17/04/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 13:30
How to Critically Appraise Quantitative Observational Research Papers
30/04/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 13:00
From Complexity to Clarity: Successfully Communicating the Impact of Your Research
08/05/2019 (Wednesday) 10:100 - 16:00
Dealing with Anxiety
13/05/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 14/05/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:30  
Webinar: Quantitative Research - A Basic Guide
14/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Scale Development
21/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Mock Viva (Humanities and Social Sciences)
22/05/2019 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Structural Equation Modelling
28/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
User Log on Test
08/08/2019 (Thursday) 00:00 - 00:00