Doctoral Academy Programme Bookings


Welcome Guest
Home > Browse 
Search:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Bookings for workshops open on 5th September for workshops in the three month period up to the end of November. On the first of each month, bookings will open for the subsequent three month rolling period so that on 1st October bookings can be made up to the end of December, on 1st November bookings can be made through to the end of January, and so on.

When you find a workshop that you wish to attend, please click on "Register Here". At this point, you will be required to log in with your usual Cardiff University username and password. If you are unable to login, it may be because you are not eligible for direct bookings in the Doctoral Academy Programme (it is for doctoral researchers) or you are not in our database for another reason. Please contact us, ideally by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk, including your full name and student number, and we will investigate the matter for you. If you have further questions, these may be addressed in ‘Frequently Asked Questions’ or Doctoral Academy Programme information.

NOTE: If you have any special requirements including dietary or study aid, please can you inform the Doctoral Academy office by email to Doctoral-Academy@cardiff.ac.uk and include your full name, student number and brief details of your requirements. 

Important legal information: The University is committed to providing a wide range of workshops where possible, but students should be aware that whilst every effort is made to offer choice this may be limited in certain circumstances. This is due to the fact that some workshops have limited numbers of places available, which are allocated on a first-come first-served basis, while others have minimum student numbers required before they will run, to ensure that an appropriate quality of training can be delivered; some workshops require students to have a certain level of prior knowledge. Some workshops may be cancelled at short notice due to circumstances beyond our control, but we will make every effort to reschedule within the academic session. Please note that the booking system does contain obsolete workshops, which we cannot currently hide.

 

Events beginning Monday, 18th Feb 2019 00:00am
Practical Project Management for Your Research
19/02/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Webinar: Academic Writing - Writing and Structuring an Effective Thesis
19/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Exploratory Data Analysis
20/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Public Speaking for Researchers
20/02/2019 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 17:00
Data Clinic at the Doctoral Academy
21/02/2019 (Thursday) 15:00 - 16:00
Python: An Introduction to Programming
21/02/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
ARC: An Introduction to Linux with Command Line (& Windows 101)
21/02/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 16:00
Planning and Writing Your Thesis (Sciences)
25/02/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - A Comparison of Qualitative Methods
26/02/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Researching and Writing a Literature Review in the Social Sciences: An Introduction
26/02/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Abstracts: How to Write them in the Sciences
26/02/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:30
R Package for Statistical Analysis: Intermediate
27/02/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Why Teach in Higher Education?
27/02/2019 (Wednesday) 14:30 - 16:30
Python Advanced
28/02/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 12:30
PowerPoint: Enhancing Your Presentation, Microsoft
01/03/2019 (Friday) 09:50 - 12:30
Researchers in Schools (RIS) Programme Talk
01/03/2019 (Friday) 13:00 - 14:00
Java: An Introduction
04/03/2019 (Monday) 09:00 - 17:00
Recognition as a Teacher in Higher Education - Individual Route: Coaching Session
05/03/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Qualitative Interviewing
05/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Collaboration: The Hidden Research Skill
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Zotero: a Free Alternative to EndNote
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 13:50 - 16:00
ARC: An Introduction to Linux Shell Scripting
06/03/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Examination and the Viva (Sciences)
07/03/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 15:00
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences)
07/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
What Next? Career Planning for PhD Students - (Sciences)
11/03/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 12:00
Webinar: Qualitative Research Skills - Analysing Qualitative Data
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
CorelDRAW: Using the Graphics Suite to Manipulate Images
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 12:30
Application Forms: Making your Answers Count
12/03/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00
Effective Researcher: Effective Progress - The Second Year
13/03/2019 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:00
Effective CV Writing
14/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Word: Working with Long Documents, Microsoft
14/03/2019 (Thursday) 09:20 - 13:30
PGR Festival – Day 1: The Showcasing Researcher – Festival Launch
18/03/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 13:00
PGR Festival – Day 1: The Showcasing Researcher – How to Become a Doctoral Academy Champion
18/03/2019 (Monday) 13:00 - 14:00
PGR Festival – Day 1: Wellbeing & Resilience – Let it Flow Yoga
18/03/2019 (Monday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Day 1: The Showcasing Researcher – How to Develop Your Brand
18/03/2019 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:00
Breaking Boundaries: An interdisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities conference - Delegate
19/03/2019 (Tuesday) 9:00 - 17:00
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - Preparing for Your Viva
19/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
PGR Festival – Day 3: The Innovative Educator – Mentoring and Coaching
20/03/2019 (Wednesday) 13:30 - 16:30
PGR Festival – Day 3: Wellbeing & Resilience – Sleep Workshop
20/03/2019 (Wednesday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Day 3: The Innovative Educator – Using Technology to Teach
20/03/2019 (Wednesday) 10:30 - 13:00
PGR Festival – Day 3: The Innovative Educator – The Higher Educational Landscape
20/03/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 10:30
PGR Festival – Day 4: Wellbeing & Resilience – The Break Room
21/03/2019 (Thursday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Day 4: The Careers Savvy Researcher - The Current Landscape
21/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:00
ARC: Supercomputing for Beginners
21/03/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 16:00
PGR Festival – Day 5: The Creative Researcher – Creative Thinking in Research
22/03/2019 (Friday) 10:00 - 13:00
PGR Festival – Day 5: The Creative Researcher – Visualising Research Using Sketchnotes
22/03/2019 (Friday) 13:30 - 16:30
PGR Festival – Day 6: Wellbeing & Resilience – Let it Flow Yoga
25/03/2019 (Monday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Day 6: The High Potential Researcher – Strengthening Your Profile
25/03/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 13:00
PGR Festival – Day 6: The High Potential Researcher –Nutritional workshop: Increase energy’
25/03/2019 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:00
Speaking of Science: Interdisciplinary Conference - Delegate
26/03/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 16:00
Webinar: Finishing Your PhD - On The Job: Securing a First Academic Post
26/03/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
PGR Festival – Day 8: The Innovative Researcher
27/03/2019 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 16:00
PGR Festival – Day 8: Wellbeing & Resilience – Laughter Yoga
27/03/2019 (Wednesday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Day 9: The Careers Savvy Researchers - The Future of Work
28/03/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:00
PGR Festival – Day 9: Wellbeing & Resilience – The Benefits of Running & How to Avoid Injury
28/03/2019 (Thursday) 17:30 - 18:30
PGR Festival – Final - Day 10: The Engaging Researcher – Wrap Up Event
29/03/2019 (Friday) 11:00 - 13:00
Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition at Cardiff University – Observer
29/03/2019 (Friday) 13:00 - 16:00
Effective Researcher: The End is in Sight
01/04/2019 (Monday) 10:00 - 16:00
 Statistics for Beginners (3 parts)
starts: 01/04/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 16:30  
Webinar: Finishing your PhD - Preparing Impactful Research Proposals and Grant Applications
02/04/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Assessing Student Learning in the Sciences
02/04/2019 (Tuesday) 9:30 - 12:30
Writing a Literature Review in the Sciences
02/04/2019 (Tuesday) 13:30 - 16:30
ARC: Advanced Use of 'Hawk' - the Supercomputer
03/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Systematic Database Searching For Literature Reviews
03/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:50 - 17:00
Mendeley: An Introduction
04/04/2019 (Thursday) 13:50 - 16:00
Preparing and Presenting a Conference Paper (Humanities/Social Sciences)
04/04/2019 (Thursday) 13:00 - 15:00
How to Critically Appraise Qualitative Research Papers
04/04/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 13:00
NVivo 11 (Windows): Introduction to Qualitative Analysis Software
05/04/2019 (Friday) 09:00 - 16:30
Managing Procrastination
05/04/2019 (Friday) 09:30 - 11:30
Overcoming Perfectionism
08/04/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
Starting Out: Induction Event for New Researchers
09/04/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 16.15
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Seminars
09/04/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Researching Companies and Industries In The Private Sector
10/04/2019 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
ARC: An Introduction to Parallel Programming using OpenMP
10/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
Writers' Retreat
11/04/2019 (Thursday) 09:30 - 16:15
R Package for Statistical Analysis: An Introduction
17/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
ARC: Introduction to Parallel Programming using Message Passing (MPI)
17/04/2019 (Wednesday) 13:00 - 16:00
How to Critically Appraise Systematic Reviews and Intervention Studies
17/04/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 13:30
Be a Better Writer (Humanities)
24/04/2019 (Wednesday) 9:30 - 16:30
Be a Better Writer (Sciences)
25/04/2019 (Thursday) 9:30 - 16:30
Excel: Using Graphs and Charts to Present Your Data, Microsoft
29/04/2019 (Monday) 09:50 - 12:30
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Preparing and Delivering Lectures
30/04/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
How to Critically Appraise Quantitative Observational Research Papers
30/04/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 13:00
Data Visualisation for Communicating Research
01/05/2019 (Wednesday) 10:00 - 12:00
 Progressing into Leadership (3 parts)
starts: 02/05/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 16:30  
Webinar: Teaching Skills - Assessment, Feedback and Module Design
07/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
From Complexity to Clarity: Successfully Communicating the Impact of Your Research
08/05/2019 (Wednesday) 10:100 - 16:00
Enhance Academic Writing in Your PhD Thesis
09/05/2019 (Thursday) 9:30 - 12:30
Dealing with Anxiety
13/05/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 12:00
EndNote: Further Techniques for Managing your References
13/05/2019 (Monday) 13:50 - 16:00
 Staying Motivated During Your PhD (2 parts)
starts: 14/05/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 17:30  
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Tuesday Series (5 parts)
starts: 14/05/2019 (Tuesday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Webinar: Quantitative Research - A Basic Guide
14/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Consultancy Skills for Researchers
15/05/2019 (Wednesday) 09:30 - 17:00
Mock Viva (Humanities and Social Sciences)
15/05/2019 (Wednesday) 14:00 - 16:00
 English for Research Writing (Non-native Speakers) - Thursday Series (5 parts)
starts: 16/05/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00  
Inkscape for Easy Illustrations
17/05/2019 (Friday) 09:20 - 12:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Scale Development
21/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Webinar: Quantitative Research - Introduction to Structural Equation Modelling
28/05/2019 (Tuesday) 19:00 - 21:00
Managing Research Data: Key Aspects of Legal Compliance and Record Management
10/06/2019 (Monday) 14:00 - 16:30
Time Management
18/06/2019 (Tuesday) 09:15 - 12:30
Practise your Presentation Skills
27/06/2019 (Thursday) 10:00 - 12:00
Improving your Interaction Others
01/07/2019 (Monday) 09:30 - 11:30
Managing Stress in the PhD
02/07/2019 (Tuesday) 09:30 - 11:30
Writing and Publishing Your Research (Sciences)
04/07/2019 (Thursday) 13:30 - 16:30
User Log on Test
08/08/2019 (Thursday) 00:00 - 00:00